Agatha of Palermo -Poem by Sofia Kioroglou

Sofia Kioroglou

Agatha
wealthy and beautiful
unfaltering,unswerving,enduring
unwavering, unyielding,tortured,humiliated
bleeding, gushing, spurting
warm, holy
Blood

IMG_3563.JPGA FEW WORDS ABOUT SAINT AGATHA
Troparion (Tone 4)

Your lamb Agatha, calls out to You, O Jesus, in a loud voice:
"I love You, my Bridegroom, and in seeking You I endure endure suffering.
In baptism I was crucified so that I might reign in You, and I died so that I might live with You.
Accept me as a pure sacrifice, for I have offered offered myself in love."
Through her prayers save our souls, since You are merciful.
Kontakion (Tone 4)

May the Church be robed today in a garment of glorious porphyry,
Dyed by the pure blood of the martyr Agatha,
And let us cry out: "Rejoice, pride of Catania!"
 Commemorated on February 5

The Holy Virgin Martyr Agatha was the fifteen-year-old daughter of rich and respected Christian parents from the city of…

View original post 247 more words

Leave a Reply

