Mind-wandering

As I was reading some posts today, my eye was caught by a Hemingway quote which really struck a chord with me. Oftentimes, I just sit there staring at my monitor, trying to catch the brain rain. But I can’t seem to get my mind in its writing state as mind-wandering is literally a constant. Hemingway hit the nail on the head when he stated that worrying interferes with our ability to write, specifically worry caused by financial or health concerns. Real life worries may be responsible for the writer’s block we oftentimes face as they distract us and prevent us from self-actualization.

Financial security is a great help as it keeps you from worrying. Worry destroys the ability to write. Ill health is bad in the ratio that it produces worry which attacks your subconscious and destroys your reserves. (Ernest Hemingway, 1958)

Leave a Reply

