Catching the brain rain

Every day I try to set aside 10 minutes and have pen and paper handy. I always allow myself the freedom to think zany thoughts, and try not to fret if nothing really productive springs to mind right away. I periodically scan over my notes from these sessions as things may pop into your mind after they have “marinated” for a while. If no ideas pop into my head, I pick a fun topic and doodle a bit.
I sometimes use a word association to get things rolling if I feel stuck e.g. thinking -> thoughts -> mind -> brainstorm -> brain rain. Also, I have seen that when I am widest awake I can produce really amazing work so I get some orange juice first to bump up my energy and plunge myself into work! Hope these tips work for all my fellow writers out there!

Leave a Reply

